Green Smoothie…

I once proclaimed that I would never eat anything mushy and green. I also used to IMG_5001vehemently hate smoothies for a number of reasons that I would then proceed to list off to anyone who would listen (I also have a list for mushrooms, but we will save that for another time). Well, now I’m biting my tongue and going back on those words because I LOVE SMOOTHIES.

I usually enjoy this smoothie in the morning. I find it is a great way to get a good boost of nutrients and energy. Sometimes I pair it with a slice of toast and avocado if I do not think I will get the time for a mid-morning snack.

This is a super basic recipe (*with very exact measurements).

  • 2-3 bananas
  • 1 handful of baby spinach
  • 1 cup of frozen mango (or a little less if you use less banana)
  • 1/2 cup of your favourite dairy-free milk
  • 1/2 cup of water (or a little more if you add 3 bananas)

Place all the ingredients in a blender (I usually put the mangos in last). Pulse 2-3 times to help crunch up the mangos then blend for 30-60 seconds or until it has reached a consistency you like.

You can also add flax seed to this this recipe or anything you feel would make it more nutritious and taste even more delicious! As you can tell, I am *very, very exact with my measurements.
(*note the sarcasm)

Enjoy!
-E

Leave a Reply

