Vegan Sushi

Homemade sushi
Homemade sushi

One of my favourite foods to make/eat is sushi. Vegan sushi is especially easy as it only requires a sushi mat, nori, rice and veggies. It can be a bit of a challenge to find nori in a small town, however, if I have great trouble finding it, there is the option to order it online. I generally use cucumber, red or green pepper, and avocado.

Basically, I buy a generic brand sushi rice (make sure you buy sticky/sushi rice) and cook that first. Once it has cooled a little, I’ll begin to make my sushi. When I first started making sushi, I would use half a sheet of nori and place the rice on the outside. I now prefer to place the rice on the inside (maki roll). It is not only aesthetically pleasing, it is also much easier to roll. Spread the rice all over the nori sheet. Place your veggies just below the middle of your sheet. Make sure you have enough room to make a complete fold over the veggies, then continue to roll the rest of the sheet.

Finally, when you cut the sushi, it helps to use a wet, serrated knife. Also, let the knife do the cutting and be careful not to apply too much pressure. I find this technique gives a cleaner cut that does not squish your sushi.

Here is a mountain of sushi for motivation!
IMG_5042
Best of luck!
-E

One thought on “Vegan Sushi

Leave a Reply

