The Minimalist Challenge.

When I started my journey to B.C., I believed that I wanted to be settled. I bought some furniture, decorated my apartment, and buckled in for the long haul. I quickly realized that something about these decisions felt uneasy. Lately, I have had quite the obsession with tiny homes and the idea of owning less material items. A friend and I discussed how, due to our climate, there is a certain amount of items and gear you need to enjoy and be comfortable in each of the seasons. This being said, we concluded it would be phenomenal to be able to pack most, or all, of our “stuff” into a hatchback car. Due to my slight obsession with musical instruments, this becomes a little problematic, but I think if I exclude those, it can be a realistic project.

If I want to be mobile, I need to own less. This is why I have chosen to partake in the “30 Day Minimalist Challenge”. I have stumbled across this challenge on a few different websites over the years, but most recently, I read about it on “The Minimalists” website (link below). The premise is on day 1 you give away or remove 1 item from your home, day 2 you remove 2 items, etc. To be honest, I’m not sure I will make it 30 days, but I am willing to give it my best shot!

My first item is a shirt that I have worn approximately twice. I originally picked it up at a thrift store for 2 dollars, so I kept it “just in case”. I think it’s time to let it go.

Here’s the link to the challenge:
http://www.theminimalists.com/game/

-E

Leave a Reply

